Westside Buzzing With Hot Rock Action: Rhino Records Pop-Up Store in Westwood, May 17-31; Hammer Museum Free July Thursdays Line-Up Announced

From Rhino.com:

Rhino Records, the famed Westwood hole-in-the-wall storefront that begat the iconic catalog record label of the same name and defined the independent music store paradigm — just celebrated on “Record Store Day” — will be back for a very limited run from May 17 – 30…. It is expected that over 100,000 individual “pieces of product” will be sold over the course of Rhino’s reanimation with a goal of raising $100,000 for Chrysalis Enterprises, a non-profit organization that has helped address the problems of the economically disadvantaged of Los Angeles county for more than 25 years….a schedule of rhinoesque — there’s no other way to put it — events is shaping up. Some highlights:

Rhino Records

Monday, May 17: Screening of “No Autographs, No Encores,” a 35-minute performance film of Nirvana’s live performance at Rhino Records in 1989, the band’s first gig outside Seattle
Wednesday, May 19: Mixology with DJ Clockwork
Thursday, May 20: The Blasters reunited in-store performance
Friday, May 21: Richard Thompson
Saturday, May 22: mike watt + missingmen in-store performance
Sunday, May 23: Spain in-store performance
Monday, May 24: Los Angeles Songwriters night – stay tuned for details
Tuesday, May 25: Roger Steffens screens and curates his Intimate Moments with Reggae’s Greats
Thursday, May 27: Peter Case and guests perform selections from Wig! to be released June 29 on Yep Rock
Friday, May 28: Life After Rhino: former Rhino employees plus in-store signing of Record Store Days by authors Gary Calamar and Phil Gallo: Screening Final Vinyl film chronicling historic Rhino Records in-store performances by Nick Lowe, Del Rubio Triplets, They Might Be Giants, Lucinda Williams, Steve Wynn and more.
Saturday May 29: First U.S. screening of One Man Beatles, Italian documentary film about the life of the enigmatic Emitt Rhodes. Members of his band The Merry-Go-Round will be in attendance.
Sunday, May 30: Return of Wharf Rat Tales with Wednesday Week, The Urinals a/k/a The 100 Flowers and The Last with Joe Nolte
Monday, May 31: Original Rhino Daze. A cast of characters closely associated with Rhino in its hey day will be on hand to whatever it is they do. Among those expected: Dr. Demento, Wildman Fisher, Ruben & The Jets, Barnes & Barnes (the “Fishheads” duo), Big Daddy, Temple City Kazoo Orchestra.

Label photo and an excellent piece on Rhino Records, the label, from Glorious Noise


 
KCRW and the Hammer Museum Present the 2010 “Also I Like to Rock” Music Series Curated by Buzz Bands LA

Thursday, July 1, 7PM
Saint Motel + Kitten
KCRW DJ: Dan Wilcox

Thursday, July 8, 7PM

Admiral Radley (pictured above) + The Happy Hollows
KCRW DJ: Anne Litt

Thursday, July 15, 7PM
Fitz & the Tantrums + VERY SPECIAL GUESTS
KCRW DJ: Garth Trinidad

Thursday, July 22, 7PM

Voxhaul Broadcast + Chasing Kings
KCRW DJ: Chuck P