Morning Press Release Cut & Paste: Beck Names New LP, Sets Release Date


Beck’s new album Modern Guilt, produced with Brian “Danger Mouse” Burton, will be released July 8th on DGC Records in North America and July 7 on XL Recordings in the UK and Europe.

The new album contains 10 new songs, and with the exception of last year’s Grammy-nominated, digital-only single “Timebomb”, Modern Guilt is the first new material Beck has written since the prolific stretch that produced 2005’s platinum Guero and 2006’s universally acclaimed The Information.

Modern Guilt is a tightly assembled group of songs that range in lyrical tone from introspection and social commentary to off the cuff wordplay and lighthearted humor. Musically, the album’s ten tracks vacillate between economy and experimentation, hybrid and pop classicism, while consistently manifesting Beck and Danger Mouse’s shared interest in psych-rock, folk, electronic minimalism and orchestration.

The complete track listing for Modern Guilt is:

Gamma Ray
Modern Guilt
Soul of A Man
Profanity Prayers

[insert speculative commentary]